Day 1: Detox

Thank Goodness. The first 24 hours are over. And even though it’s Day 2, I thought I would update you on the results from Day 1. The Good News: I’m down 2 lbs!! The Bad News: I’M FREAKIN’ HUNGRY! No, I’m just kidding. I’ll probably reserve that saying for Day 3. My coworkers keep trying to persuade me to go out to Waffle House or Burger King or Guthries — it’s so hard not to give in! But I’m still hanging in there. The headaches have begun. I thought my morning drink would help alleviate the pain but it hasn’t much. It’s been difficult trying NOT to pop any advil’s to help. But I think, I”ll just have to wait it out. The only other strange side effect — I have to pee all the time. And when I say all the time, I mean it.  It’s quite obnoxious! Moving on…

Here’s what I had to drink yesterday!

beet juice: 2 beets, 2 lbs of carrots, 3 green apples, 2″ ginger, 4 stalks of celery = 48 oz

This juice is really tasty and refreshing. I love juices that have ginger in them. Just think, I didn’t even know what a beet was 2 days ago.

nastiness concoction: 22 roma tomatoes (small), 1/4 onion, 1 cucmber, 6 stalks celery, 1/2 green pepper, 1 red pepper –  sliced lime – to go

Okay. This one was gross. I tried so hard to like it. But I think the reason it tasted so foul was because of the onion. I can’t stand onions!  I was trying to stay open minded; however, I just don’t think that I will ever be converted.  So, if I ever try this one out again, there will be NO onion. AND I think it’s important with tomato juice to make it fresh for every drink. Because when you come back to it in a few hours… you find a science project in your fridge where all equal parts have separated.

oj: 1 bag of nectarines, 3 naval oranges

I needed something that I knew I would like for dinner. And that’s freshly juiced oranges. Oh they were delicious. I completed depleted most, if not all, of the fruit in the kitchen. I think my goal right now will be to find a really good vegetable juice recipe that I can fall in love with. I’m still requesting any recipes anyone might be able to offer. I think I’ll attempt the mean green tonight.

Today I am thankful for: A great 2nd day. Trying to stay strong, trying to stay positive. PLTW.

3 thoughts on “Day 1: Detox

  1. Wow, your coworkers suck! Don’t worry about your juice separating – it happens with lots of them. Just shake or stir it up before you drink it. Ginger is totally awesome in juices. You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

