Graz, Austria

Hello all. I’m finally settled back home and I’m not jetlagged — to0 badly. Although, I did take a nap an hour after I woke up. This jetlag is much better than when I got back from China. We’ll see. Anyways… my first full day in Austria was spent in a little city called Graz, just a 2.5 hour train ride South of Vienna. Ever heard of it? Yeah, I hadn’t either. But this guy recommended it to me and he know’s his stuff and he’s a trusted travel source and comedian! The town is a mix of old and new. Which I love. A lot of old historic cities really fight adding any type of modern architecture because most people think it will take away from the “essence” of an old historic city. I strongly disagree. And alternatively, I think in the case of the city of Graz, the adaptation of modern architecture has helped promote the city, add tourism, and revitalize it’s economy.

Sticking with the old = bad.

Doing something new = change = positive renewal.

I digress.

Unknowingly, the Kunsthaus Graz is rotating its collection and the large exhibition spaces were closed!! WOMP WOMP. But this is what we saw.

This is the Murinsel. It actually has a small cafe in the center of the walking path. It doesn’t look very exciting in the daylight but at night it comes alive.

I thought this was really cool. It wasn’t highlighting anything special. It was just a canopy in between these buildings.

I really like these stairs. It will take you to the top of the mountain. This is the Grazer Schlossberg which literally translates in to Castle Mountain. Now you can take all of those stairs OR you can take the lazy approach (which is exactly what we did). Check out this really cool elevator and guess what? It’s free. Not always the case.

And that was most of what we saw during our day trip to Graz. I highly recommend it. It was a lovely place. It will be even lovelier when everything opens up this summer. If you have the opportunity, you should definitely schedule a vist. Graz is super cool.

Today I am thankful for: a day at home to readjust my personal time clock.  

Leave a Reply

