Shanghai, China: Taikang Lu

I was talking to a shop owner and he told me where their other store was located and I asked him to give me a landmark it was close to… he said, “how long have you been here?” I said reluctantly, “2.5 months” and he said, “well then you should definitely know about this place by now…” A little affronted I was determined to make it over there before I headed out of town and y’all he was right.  I should have known about this place! This is what one write up had to say about the place:

If you’re in the mood for some shopping but are tired of touts shoving fake watches in your face, head to Taikang Road. A walk down the road lets you see local Shanghai life at its best: street vendors selling pancakes and fruit, kids scampering about and women hanging up laundry. Then find alley 210 and wander down the lane. It’s full of shops and cafes selling everything from traditional Chinese qi pao dresses to funky silver jewelry.
At first when we got off the subway, we were like — what’s all the fuss about? But you quickly start poking your head down alleyways and start snaking around the small neighborhood that’s filled with local boutiques, cafe, and restaurants. Forget the French Concession, this little area is way cooler. I’ve never been good at picking up nic-nacs for people when I travel — but if I were, I would pick them up here. Some things are a little pricey, but they’re artsy… so naturally, that makes the price go up. But it’s a great place when you’re in search of a gift. I think. So… check it out.
Today I am thankful for: 2 milk teas! I love that stuff. Oh, I’m really going to miss it!
Leave a Reply

