Food Team: Sheng Sushi

Can y’all believe that I have not had ANY Japanese food since I’ve been in China? Unbelievable, right? Actually, other than Vietnamese Pho, I don’t think I’ve had any other Asian cuisine other than chinese food. I’m not complaining. I love chinese food. But this week, I’ve had a craving for some delicious sushi. My roommate found a new hole-in-the-wall sushi restaurant that we just had to try! So we went. Here’s the info:

  • The Place: Sheng Sushi
  • The Food: Yummy Sushi
  • The Location: 63 Yongkang Lu, near Jiashan Lu
    永康路63号, 近嘉善路
  • The hours: 10 a.m.-9 p.m
  • The digits: +86 21 135 6459 5115, +86 21 138 1641 8701

This place is delightful. And what I love most about it is that it is sooo tiny. There might be 8 chairs inside and they can enclose the back kitchen so that the servers can’t pass back and forth and add another chair where that partition was. You might find yourself asking to refill someone else’s tea cup but it’s all in good fun and it’s apart of the ambiance. In the back kitchen area there is a ladder resting at a 75 degree angle where the wait staff will quickly go up and down and bring out more tables and chairs as they are needed outside. This is one of those really unique places that you have to go to. The wait staff is super friendly and while they may not speak any english, they do their best and usually understand. A+ guys.

Oh yeah. Friends, meet The Denver Roll. Mango (my favorite) with cucumber and crab roe with tuna salad. Oh my goodness I cannot even put into words how yummy this was.

Eat it facebook! This is a wall of love notes. Forget “liking” something… All of these people LOVE it.

Today I am thankful for: my BFF finally being finished with her BAR exam!! Congrats V. You’ve been working your butt off. AND I’m finished with work! Woohoo! Now the countdown for home is really on!

USA countdown: 4 days : 21 hours : 25 minutes

Spread the Good Word: PLTW

Leave a Reply

