Wedding Season…

I had one of the best weekends this weekend! It was full of so much fun. I went to my second wedding this month and it was the most beautiful service that I have ever been to. A friend of mine invited me to go with him and we got there an hour early so we just pigtrailed through Springville and Ashville, AL . The happy couple got married at Micah’s Meadow at Mathews Manor.

Here’s a pic I borrowed from their website so that you can get a better idea of where we were.

Micah's Manor

Here’s a photograph of the groom right before he walked to meet his beautiful bride. He was a little fidgety.

The groom, Brian.

They did something really unique and I think (although I don’t really know these people), something that I believe describes their personalities. They chose to do a reading called the “One Another’s” and they had roughly 30-40 people each read 1 verse. So you would hear their closest friends saying these verses all around you. It was so beautiful and really very special.

The Gospels

  • 1.  “…Be at peace with each other” (Mark 9:50)
  • 2.  “…Wash one another’s feet” (John 13:14)
  • 3.  “…Love one another…” (John 13:34-35; John 15:12, 17)

Paul’s Letters – Romans, I Corinthians, II Corinthians

  • 4.  “Love one another”(Romans 13:8)
  • 5.  “Be devoted to one another in brotherly love…” (Romans 12:10)
  • 6.  “Honor one another above yourselves” (Romans 12:10)
  • 7.  “Live in harmony with one another…” (Romans 12:16)
  • 8.  “…Stop passing judgment on one another” (Romans 14:13)
  • 9.  “Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you…” (Romans 15:7)
  • 10.  “…instruct one another” (Romans 15:4)
  • 11.  “Greet one another with a holy kiss…” (Romans 16:16; I Corinthians 16:20, II Corinthians
  • 13:12; I Thessalonians 5:26)
  • 12.  “…When you come together to eat, wait for each other”  (I Corinthians 11:33)
  • 13.  “…Have equal concern for each other” (I Corinthians 12:25)
  • 14.  “…Serve one another in love” (II Corinthians 13:12)

Galatians, Ephesians

  • 15.  “Carry each other’s burdens…” (Galatians 6:2)
  • 16.  “If you keep on biting and devouring each other…you will be destroyed by each other” (Galatians 5:15)
  • 17.  “Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other” (Galatians 5:26)
  • 18.  “…Be patient, bearing with one another in love” (Ephesians 4:2)
  • 19.  “Be kind and compassionate to one another…” (Ephesians 4:32)
  • 20.  “…forgiving each other…” (Ephesians 4:32)
  • 21.  “Speak to one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs” (Ephesians 5:19)
  • 22.  “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ” (Ephesians 5:21)

Philippians, Colossians

  • 23.  “…in humility consider others better than yourselves” (Philippians 2:3)
  • 24.  “Do not lie to each other…” (Colossians 3:9)
  • 25.  “Bear with each other…” (Colossians 3:13)
  • 26.  “…Forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another” (Colossians 3:13)
  • 27.  “Teach…[one another]”  (Colossians 3:16)
  • 28.  “…admonish one another” (Colossians 3:16)

I Thessalonians, Hebrews

  • 29.  “…make your love increase and overflow for each other” (I Thessalonians 3:12)
  • 30.  “Encourage one another” (I Thessalonians 4:18, 5:11; Hebrews 10:25)
  • 31.  “…Build each other up…” (I Thessalonians 5:11)
  • 32.  “Encourage one another daily…” (Hebrews 3:13)
  • 33.  “Spur one another on toward love and good deeds” (Hebrews 10:24)

Other Letters

  • James, I Peter, I John, II John
  • 34.  “…Do not slander one another” (James 4:11)
  • 35.  “Don’t grumble against each other” (James 5:9)
  • 36.  “Confess your sins to each other…” (James 5:16)
  • 37.  “…Pray for each other” (James 5:16)
  • 38.  “…Love one another deeply, from the heart” (I Peter 1:22, 4:8)
  • 39.  “…Live in harmony with one another…” (I Peter 3:8)
  • 40.  “Greet one another with a kiss of love” (I Peter 5:14)
  • 41.  “Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling” (I Peter 4:9)
  • 42.  “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others…” (I Peter 4:10)
  • 43.  “…Clothe yourselves with humility toward one another…” (I Peter 5:15)
  • 44.  “Love one another” (I John 3:11, 23, 4:7,11,12;  II John 5)

And then they did something that I usually can’t stand at weddings. They wrote their own vows. But these weren’t like those silly sappy things where people say “I’ll keep the air conditioning at 73″… these were special. They promised each other to live a life that wasn’t ordinary and a life full of adventure. I’ll have to remember to add these to my own … whenever that day comes…

The Happy Couple.

Side Note: They gave us fans as we entered and those were the program. I genius idea for anyone having an outdoor wedding in the middle of June.

 

I wish I had pictures but I was having too damn good of a time to be taking pictures. Oh, but they had a Southern Style Buffet, complete with Deviled Eggs, Pimiento Cheese and Crackers, Corn on the Cob, BBQ Chicken, everyone’s personal favorite — the Corn Muffins — and their wedding cake was a Strawberry Shortcake — GENIUS.

BTW, they had the best band EVER. They are called II da Maxx. Find out more, here! I have never heard “Strokin'” at a wedding reception. And it. was. awesome!!! They sang so many good songs and all you want to do is dance the night away! They’ve got my vote.

I wish them the absolute best and a lifetime of happiness — I don’t even know them, but I can’t wait till I do!

Leave a Reply

