Summer Reading List

Soooo… long long ago, I used to hate if not despise reading. Since college, I have gained a new appreciation for getting lost in a book that’s not associated with school work. Lately,  I rarely have time to read when I am in school so now I figure that since it is summer I must put together a list and see if I can get through them all. Some are a bit ambitious (and have been on my list for quite a while) and others are good trashy summer reads. As I finish them I’ll try and give a synopsis and a smiley rating 🙂

Sara Gruen : Water for Elephants

This book came as a recommendation from my best friend. She has excellent literary taste. I have no doubt that this book will be wonderful – she never let’s me down. So far the introduction is quite interesting!

Gregory Maguire : Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Another fun read. Ever since I saw the play with my best friend in London, not only do I love the music, but I want to know the back story to how the play came about. I hear that the book is great and I can’t wait to read it.

Harper Lee : To Kill a Mockingbird

This is my absolute favorite book in the whole wide world. It’s been too long since I’ve reread it. I can’t wait to sit down and rediscover my old friends: Scout, Jem, Atticus, and Mister Boo Radley 🙂 Love. Love. Love this book. (Would you expect any less from this Alabama girl?)

Maeve Binchy : Quentins

This is another book that came at a high recommendation from my mother. It should be good.

Robert Irwin : Seeing Is Forgetting the Name of the Thing One Sees: A Life of Contemporary Artist Robert Irwin

My professors from undergrad gave all of the graduates this book. I think its high time I read it.

Dave Eggers : The Wild Things

This should definitely be a fun read. Although my friend who gave it to me told me that it was horribly disappointing. I think that I will have to find out for myself. I always liked the picture book when I was younger. How bad could it be?

Kate Mosse : Labyrinth

This book is suppose to be an adventure mystery … I think it’ll be something similar to a Dan Brown book. It’ll be a fun read.

Haha… this ambitious read number 1. I’ve been trying to sit down with this for 6 years now. Maybe this year will be the year…. maybe…

John Steinbeck : East of Eden

Ambitious Read # 2. This one has been on my shelf since I was in high school. Certainly, I’m ready for it now… we’ll see.

Elizabeth Gilbert : Eat Pray Love

I’m not completely sure why I want to read this one. But I do. I think it’ll be a good quick read.

Linda Berdoll : Night and Days at Pemberly

Alright, let’s talk about this one. I read the prequel, that being, Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife … it was nothing but sex, romance, questions of parentage, more sex, and more Mr. Darcy — and you know what?? I can’t ask for much more. It was 5oo pages of wonderfulness. Damnit, where’s my Mr. Darcy (that may be another post entirely)?? With that being said, I cannot wait to read this book. Linda Berdoll will not let me down 🙂

Kurt Vonnegut : Slaughter-House-Five

I am ashamed to even mention that I have not yet read this book. I think its important to not only read classics but gain an appreciation for what this classic has brought to pop culture and the references that have been made from this book. I cannot wait to pick this one up!

Do you have any good recommendations for a good Summer Reading Book?

Leave a Reply

